Powerwolf announces compilation of best hits


Powerwolf has announced the release of a compilation of their best hits, together with a live album.

Artículo disponible en Español | Article disponible en Français

Following an impressive increase in popularity over the past few years, with the release of albums such as “Preachers of the Night” in 2013, “Blessed & Possessed” in 2015 and “The Sacrament of Sin” in 2018, as well as celebrating 15 years of existence, the German power metal band Powerwolf is now back with a new special album.

Teased over the past few days, and being quite predictable due to the characters depicted on the artwork, the band has announced the release of a double album, which includes an album with their top songs, and a second album being one of their live concerts from the original “The Sacrament of Sin” tour, the “Wolfsnächte Tour 2018”.

According to the product page, the album will be coming out at the beginning of June of this year (5th of June 2020), both physically and digitally. Of course, and as it usual with music these days, various different versions of the album exist, each including different bonuses. Fans of LPs will be able to pick between different editions, both regular and limited, with the same pattern being followed for the CD version.

On top of these many different versions, it is possible to get either just the compilation of Powerwolf’s hits, without the live album, or both albums, although there’s no individual version for the live album. Speaking about the live album, the product page does not specify where the included songs have been recorded, so we assume they don’t come from a single concert and are instead a compilation of the best live versions from their 2018 tour. For their best hits, some of these have been re-recorded, including classics such as “We drink your blood” or “Sanctified with Dynamite”.

To complicate matters even more, the limited CD edition includes a third album with 4 extra exclusive live tracks, with said edition being limited to 1 000 units. In all, this limited edition comes with 34 tracks in total.

Here’s the track list of each album. The (2020) means the song has been re-recorded, with only “Kiss of the Cobra King” being a new version, released at the end of last year. From our understanding, and from what the band has specified, the re-recorded versions match the original versions. Furthermore, it would make no sense to include new versions of songs in a compilation of their best hits.


CD2: The Live Sacrament

  1. We drink your blood (2020)
  2. Army of the night
  3. Demons are a girl’s best friend
  4. Werewolves of Armenia (2020)
  5. Saturday Satan (2020)
  6. Amen & Attack
  7. Where the wild wolves have gone
  8. Resurrection by erection (2020)
  9. Sanctified with Dynamite (2020)
  10. Kreuzfeuer
  11. Armata Strigoi
  12. Kiss of the Cobra King (2019)
  13. Killers with the cross
  14. Sacred & Wild
  15. In blood we trust (2020)
  16. Let there be night
  1. Fire & Forgive
  2. Incense & Iron
  3. Amen & Attack
  4. Demons are a girl’s best friend
  5. Killers with the cross
  6. Armata Strigoi
  7. Blessed & possessed
  8. Where the wild wolves have gone
  9. Resurrection by erection
  10. Stossgebet
  11. All we need is blood
  12. We drink your blood
  13. Werewolves of Armenia
  14. Lupus Dei

CD3: The Live Bonus Sacrament

  1. Sanctified with Dynamite
  2. Army of the Night
  3. Coleus Sanctus
  4. Let there be night

For now, there is still no word on a new album, although the band did announce they had re-signed with Napalm Records.

More on this subject:​